* * * *     VIOBA ANNUAL DINNER     * * * *

September 29, 2018


Tan Sri Zaman Khan, Datuk Mustafa Mohd Ali, Datuk R. S. McCoy,
Ar. Hud Abu Bakar

Organised by the VI Old Boys Association,
the 125th Anniversary Dinner recognised five Victorians
who had contributed to the school and nation

Tan Sri Zaman Khan, 76, a former crime buster and Director-General of Prisons Malaysia, led four other Victorians in receiving awards for their immense contribution to the nation and their alma mater, the Victoria Institution (VI).

They were honoured during the Victoria Institution’s 125th Anniversary Dinner, organised by the Victoria Institution Old Boys Association (VIOBA) at the Majestic Hotel, Kuala Lumpur recently.

The other Victorians who received the awards were Datuk R. S. McCoy, a well-known gynaecologist, Datuk Mustafa Mohd Ali, who sat on the Boards of a number of public-listed companies and Ar. Hud Abu Bakar, a well-known architect who has been involved in quite a number of projects including the Le Meridien & Hilton Hotel Kuala Lumpur. The fifth recipient, Datuk Kok Wee Kiat, former Deputy Minister of MITI, was not able to attend the event.

The event, attended by more than 500 Victorians and also teachers, was graced by Tommy Thomas, Attorney-General, who studied in the Victoria Institution (VI) in the 60s.

Khairuzzaman Muhammad, President of VIOBA said that the theme of this year’s VIOBA Annual Dinner, ‘Honouring the Victorian, Scholar, Sportsman & Gentlemen’, was the final in the series of five Annual Dinners that VIOBA organised since 2014 to honour Victorians who have contributed to the success of the school through their various achievements.

“Starting off in 2014, the annual dinner honoured VI Scholars and Educators, VI Sport Personalities in 2015, Victorians who have contributed immensely to the nation in 2016, the Corporate Victorians in 2017 and culminating this year with the theme of ‘Honouring the Victorian; Gentleman, Scholar and Sportsman.

“It gives the VIOBA great pleasure to have our honourees with us during the dinner as we have the opportunity to personally thank our Victorian Greats for all their sacrifices and untiring work towards building our nation and the school itself,” he added.

Other well-known Victorians like Datuk Bazlan Osman of TM Berhad, Datuk Yusli Yusoff, formerly with Bursa Malaysia, Datuk Hamzah Majid, Tan Sri Rafiah Salim of Maybank, Datuk Harjit Singh Hullon, TV newscaster, Datuk Ruben Gnanalingam of Westports, Datuk Azman Shah of Northport and Mac Ngan Boon of Muhibbah Engineering also attended the dinner which was held in conjunction with the VI’s 125th anniversary.

“As our school song so aptly ends with these wise words of ‘That the new Victorians match with old Victorians’, it is our hope that the younger Victorians will strive to keep the school flag flying high and continue the legacy of these Victorians who have contributed to the school and our nation,” said Khairuzzaman.

The Victoria Institution was founded in 1893 and is located in Bukit Petaling, Kuala Lumpur.



Update: At a separate ceremony at the Kuala Lumpur Royal Lake Club in January 2019, the VIOBA President Khairuzzaman Muhammad presented Datuk Kok Wee Kiat (left) with his award. It was witnessed by Datuk Mustafa Ali (centre), Datin Kok and members of the VIOBA Committee.


Ramdhan Muhammad at the venue -
the venerable Majestic Hotel, built in 1932

The Menu, the Programme, and the Cake

The Awards await...

Seating at the Majestic Hotel

The title screen is ready

The Ballroom awaits the guests

The Class of 1981

Former VI staff were present...
Standing L to R: Lee Kok Leong, T Thiruchelvam, N Anandakrishnan, Sin Ah Tah, A. Jeyaretna,
Mrs Belinda Seet Meng Hui, Mrs Chong Hong Chong, Muhamad Khailani Abdul Jalil (HM '04-'07)
Seated L to R: Puan Suraya Nurjannah Yeap, Datin Maimun Hussin, Teh Mun Hing

Ex-scouts of the 2nd KL Group (Victoria Scout Group) rebonding

The class of 1995 meet up with some of their ex-teachers

The Ballroom filling up

Datuk Bazlan Osman, Executive Director/ Acting CEO of Telekom Malaysia; Mr Tommy Thomas, Attorney-General, Malaysia;
Datuk Mohd Khalis Abdul Rahim, Chief Human Capital Officer, Malaysia Airlines; Tan Sri Datuk Mohd Zaman Khan;
Dharmalingam Navaratnam, VIOBA Management Committee; Farizuddin Aman, Chairman, Board of Governors;
Zamri Tan Sri Zaman Khan, Vice-Chairman, Board of Governors.


The VIP table

SPEECHES BY: Khairuzzaman Muhammad, President, VIOBA; K. Ganes, Organising Chairman; Tommy Thomas, Guest of Honour

Dennis Loh gives a presentation on the School Founders

....Capitan Yap Kwan Seng

....Sultan Abdul Samad

....Towkay Loke Yew

Entertainment by singers Farahdhiya and Aishah

The Awardees.

Cutting of the Anniversary Cake by the Guest of Honour

The Awardees and the OC.

The new Attorney-General Old Victorian Tommy Thomas mingles with the attendees

Attorney-General Tommy Thomas with a contingent of Present Boys

Dr R. S. McCoy with some Present Boys:
(l. to r.) Avvienash A/L Jaganathan, Johari Idzman, Kishen Shanthan A/L Jegathes, Dhaneshramm A/L Raja

VI The V.I. Web Page

Created: October 16, 2018.
Last update: February 7, 2019.